Loftia Proficiencies and Perks Explained

Loftia proficiencies: the demo caps every skill at Level 5, and Early Access lifts the cap and adds Perks for Farming, Crafting, Cooking and Fishing.

Last Updated: 2026-10-22

Loftia Proficiencies and Perks: What the Level 5 Demo Cap Means

Quick answer: Loftia proficiencies are the per-activity progression tracks behind farming, crafting, cooking and fishing, and in the October 2026 Steam Next Fest demo every one of them stops at Level 5. Qloud Games says on its Early Access page that in Early Access you can take your proficiencies "much further than the demo's Level 5 cap" and "choose which Perks to invest your points in", with Early Access opening on November 3, 2026 at 1pm EST (2am Beijing time on November 4). No perk tree, level-cost curve or point formula has been published, so this page is the structure and the rules, not a table of invented numbers.

  • Demo ceiling: Level 5 on every line, in the demo running October 19 to October 26, 2026 (October 20 to 27 in Beijing time).
  • Early Access: the cap comes off and Perks arrive, and you choose where points go. Announced for November 3, 2026.
  • Named lines: Farming, Crafting, Cooking and Fishing, plus the developers' own "or something else".
  • Community-compiled extras: Adventure and Research, from third-party beta and demo databases. Not official.
  • Unpublished: perk names and effects, point awards, level costs, respec rules, maximum level per line.

What a Loftia proficiency actually is

A proficiency is a per-activity track, not a character class and not a number you assign by hand. You raise it by doing the activity it is named after, which is why the developers list four named activities plus a remainder they decline to specify.

The only official sentence about how these move sits in the known-issues list rather than in a feature page. The entry for Amani's quest "Ready to Rumble" says the quest "will not detect skills you levelled before the quest started, and will require you to level 3 additional skills to complete the quest stage." Skills rise from play, and the demo already ships a live skill check inside a quest.

Official source: Steam Next Fest Known Issues

The proficiency lines the developers name

Line (official name) What official material says it covers Where you can raise it today
Farming Named on the Early Access page; the homepage describes three growing methods, hydroponics, aquaponics and trellis farming. Demo. Farming is on the official demo feature list, and the seeds come from Hazel, the Seed Shop Owner.
Crafting Named on the same list. The Steam store page describes gathering and crafting resources and tools, powered by renewable energy. Demo, indirectly. The demo feature list names "Salvaging resources" rather than crafting, so expect the line to move through salvaging and refining.
Cooking Named on the same list. Jun's official occupation is Drinks Vendor and World Projects Volunteer, so food and drink exist as a category. Not on the official demo feature list. Expect to meet Cooking in Early Access on November 3, 2026.
Fishing Named on the same list; the Early Access page describes Hanging Gardens as full of cozy fishing spots. Early Access. Hanging Gardens is not in the demo. Kassim's official occupation is Biodiversity Researcher and Fishing Expert, so the NPC already exists.
"or something else" The developers' own wording, and the only honest signal that the list is not final. No fifth line has been named. Unknown.

Official source: Loftia Early Access

The official demo feature list is short on purpose: Farming, Decorating, Sharing, Salvaging resources, Adventures and Social. A line missing from it is not proof the mechanic is absent.

What Level 5 looks like in the demo

The cap is not cosmetic. A demo character can top out every visible bar and then stop, which removes exactly the decision Early Access adds. Players posting in the Steam event thread for the demo described skill progression as "capped at 5 right now" and, in the same post, a 5,000 Dew cap that puts the 10,000 Dew plot out of reach. Both are community-reported readings that line up with the official Level 5 line.

The Level 5 cap is a demo limit, not the final design

Every build written off the demo stops at five levels, three steps short of the point where Perks exist. Do not spend the demo planning a perk loadout, because there is nothing to spend points into yet.

The clearest official proof that skill levels are live counters in the demo is the "Ready to Rumble" stage, which wants three skills levelled after the quest begins. Watch for the tool wheel too: seeds you bought from Hazel can sit invisible in your bag until you hold down R. Loftia is always online, and the official FAQ says solo play does not block progress.

What Early Access changes: the Perks layer

The official Early Access wording is short enough to quote: in Early Access you can take your proficiencies "much further than the demo's Level 5 cap", become better at activities "whether it's Farming, Crafting, Cooking, Fishing, or something else", and then "choose which Perks to invest your points in".

Two things follow. The cap is explicitly a demo artifact, so nothing you learn from five levels is the final shape of the system. And progression becomes a choice rather than a set of parallel ladders: points go where you want to be strong, so the lines you actually use are the ones you feed.

The content those levels apply to arrives in Early Access too. Hydroponics Stations and Super Crops extend Farming with advanced growing methods that need nutrients topped up, and Adventure gauntlets add the challenge layer for group quests. Hanging Gardens brings the fishing spots and farms. All of it lands on November 3, 2026.

Published versus not published

Question Status Where it comes from
Is there a proficiency cap in the demo? Yes, Level 5 Official Early Access page
Does the cap come off in Early Access, and can you choose where points go? Yes — "choose which Perks to invest your points in" Official Early Access page
Level cost, point award, perk names and effects, respec rules, maximum level per line? Not disclosed yet —

Community-compiled lines: Adventure and Research

Third-party databases built from beta and demo data list two lines beyond the four the developers name. Adventure is described around group puzzles, quests and the datapads you collect out in the world. Research appears around bundle completion, relic hunting and research efficiency, with one community perk line nicknamed for saving energy. A separate community database lists the spendable currency as Skill Points, spent in a Progression screen.

Community-compiled, not official

No official Loftia document names Adventure or Research, the Skill Points currency or a Progression screen. These come from community databases compiled during the closed beta and the demo, and they can be wrong or out of date. Read them as a shopping list of what players have seen, and re-check them on November 3, 2026.

Which residents feed which line

The official site publishes a full-body portrait and an occupation for each of the 15 residents, and those occupations line up with the activity tracks. The mapping below is inference from official roles, not an official statement, but it is useful for choosing where to spend a demo afternoon.

Resident Official occupation Line the role points at
Hazel Seed Shop Owner Farming — the seed counter
Dr. Marie Botanical Scientist Farming — she built Loftia's first hydroponic machine
Jun Drinks Vendor and World Projects Volunteer Cooking
Kassim Biodiversity Researcher and Fishing Expert Fishing
Amani Community Lead Engineer Crafting, and the "Ready to Rumble" skill gate
Leela Kinetic Dance Instructor Crafting input — her classes generate literal electricity

Dr. Marie is the clearest link between an NPC and a line: she is credited with inventing Loftia's first hydroponic machine and driving garden innovation in Gridfall.

Dr. Marie, the Botanical Scientist, official full-body Loftia character art
Dr. Marie, the Botanical Scientist, official full-body Loftia character art

Demo progress and what carries over

The developers have been clear that demo progress moves forward: completed quests, collected items, character progression and your character name all remain with you when Early Access opens. What that means for proficiency points is not spelled out, and the demo could never hand you a bank of points, since nothing above Level 5 was reachable.

Use the demo to pick a line, not to plan a build

The first five levels of each track are free of any cap decision, which makes the demo the cheapest place to find out which activities you enjoy grinding. Pick one or two lines, learn their mechanics, and let the point budget wait until Perks are real.

A name claimed in the demo is released if you do not log into Early Access between November 3, 2026 and February 3, 2027. The demo progress guide covers that rule and the account-linking requirement.

FAQ

What is the maximum Loftia proficiency level in the demo? Level 5, on every line. That is a stated demo restriction, not the final design, and the official Early Access page explicitly describes going beyond it.

Can I max out my skills before Early Access starts? No. The cap is Level 5 and the demo runs October 19 to October 26, 2026. You can see the first five levels of each track, and there is nothing to spend points into because Perks arrive with Early Access on November 3, 2026.

What perks are available at launch? Not disclosed yet. The official Early Access page confirms only that Perks exist, that points come from levelling proficiencies, and that you choose which ones to invest in. No level cost, point award or perk effect has been published either.

Do my demo proficiency levels carry over to Early Access? Demo progress, collected items, character progression and your character name all carry over per the official wording. The demo could not award proficiency progress beyond Level 5, so there is no point bank to carry, and no carry-over rule for perk points has been published.

More Loftia Guides